Skip to content

Information about 2022 NACBS prizes, fellowships and grants is now available on the NACBS website

Published: February 28, 2022


The information pages for NACBS prizes, awards, and grants are now updated for the 2022 application season. 

  • John Ben Snow Prize – for the best book by a North American scholar in any field of British Studies dealing with the period from the Middle Ages through the eighteenth century.
  • Stansky Book Prize – for the best book published anywhere by a North American scholar on any aspect of British studies since 1800.
  • Walter D. Love Prize – for the best article or paper of similar length or scope by a North American scholar in the field of British history.
  • Judith R. Walkowitz Prize – for the best published article on issues relating to gender and sexuality in British culture.
  • NACBS Undergraduate Essay Contest – for the best essays on British topics submitted by undergraduates studying in American and Canadian universities
  • NACBS M.A. Essay Prize – for the best piece of original research produced by a student in a “stand-alone” M.A. program at a university or college in the U.S. or Canada.
  • NACBS Pre-Dissertation Grants – awarded to Ph.D. candidates to pursue preliminary research on potential dissertation-length studies related to any topic in British (including Scottish, Irish, and Imperial) history or British Studies.
  • NACBS Dissertation Fellowship – awarded to support dissertation research in the British Isles on any topic of British (including Scottish, Irish and Imperial) history or British Studies.


Leave a Reply

(Your email will not be publicly displayed.)

Captcha Code

Click the image to see another captcha.