Skip to content

Blog Posts

Currently Filtering by Tags: Professional Development Series

BlockView

 

The NACBS Graduate & Early Career Caucus is happy to announce its Spring 2022 Virtual Professional Development Series. Each session will take place over Zoom and will have an extensive Q&A session, so please bring your questions!

The first workshop, entitled “British Historians in the Media, will take place Thursday, February 24 at 3:30-5:00pm EST (12:30-2:00pm PST/8:30-10:00pm GMT). Priya Satia (Stanford University), Christienna Fryar (Goldsmiths, University of London), and Brooke Newman (Virginia Commonwealth University) will discuss their experience engaging in public discourse through op-eds, podcasts, and more. This session will provide insight and advice on how historians can participate in public forums and share their expertise beyond traditional academic publishing. Register here for the Zoom link. 

The second workshop, “Pitching and Publishing your Article”, is aimed at graduate and early career scholars looking to publish their first (or second) article in a peer-reviewed journal and will take place Friday, March 25th at 2:00-3:30pm EDT (11:00am-12:30pm PDT/6:00-7:30pm GMT). Lara Kriegel (Indiana University at Bloomington and co-editor of Victorian Studies), John Mitcham (Duquesne University and general editor of Britain and the World), Elizabeth Prevost (Grinnell College and winner of the NABCS Walkowitz and Love Prizes), and Ellen Boucher (Amherst College and winner of the NACBS Love Prize), will all join us for a roundtable to share their experience publishing articles from both the writing and publishing side of the process. Register for the Zoom link here.

Lastly, a session on Navigating the Book Review” will take place Friday, April 22nd at 12:00-1:30pm EDT (9:00-10:30am PDT/5:00-6:30pm BST). Hannah Charnock (former book review editor and current general editor, Twentieth Century British History), Gary Gibbs (outgoing book review editor, Sixteenth Century Journal), and David Gehring (book review editor, Journal of British Studies) will share the ins and outs of writing good book reviews, as well as how the review process works for their respective journals. Publishing book reviews can often be a good first step toward article-publishing for early career scholars, and our panelists will discuss their experience handling reviews, how to approach an editor, and the process of review writing and publication more broadly. Register for the Zoom link here.

We hope you’ll join us for what should be great discussions! Please feel free to pass on this info to any other folks you think may be interested and invite your colleagues to join our listserv if they’d like. You can contact the organizers with any questions or ideas for the Caucus at [email protected].

0 Comments Read full post »

Area


The NACBS Graduate & Early Career Caucus are happy to announce the finalized schedule for its Fall 2021 Professional Development Series. We’ve done our best to vary the start times in hopes of accommodating folks in different time zones. Each session will have an extensive Q&A session, so please bring your questions!

 

“Using Digitized Primary Sources for Historical Research”

Saturday, October 30th at 11:00 am EST (4:00 pm GMT/8:00 am PST)

Simon Devereaux (University of Victoria), Michael de Nie (University of West Georgia), and Emily Rutherford (University of Oxford) will discuss how they approach digitized collections, especially in comparison to physical archives. They will also detail their specific experience with the Old Bailey Online, the British Newspaper Archive, and recently digitized British newsreels. This workshop constitutes one of four pre-conference virtual events hosted by the NACBS Executive Council, so the Zoom link will be available using your NACBS membership login on the Cambridge Core site.

 

“Navigating the Archive”

In-person roundtable at NACBS Atlanta

Susan Pennybacker (University of North Carolina), Paul Deslandes (University of Vermont), David Chan Smith (Wilfrid Laurier University), and Michael Silvestri (Clemson University) will discuss their strategies for both planning and executing successful archival trips, as well as common pitfalls graduate students and early career scholars should try to avoid.

 

“Careers Beyond the Professoriate”

December 3rd at 4:00 pm EST (9:00 pm GMT/1:00 pm PST)

Antoinette Burton (Professor of History, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign and Director of Humanities Without Walls), Jessica Queener (Assistant Provost of Graduate Education Policy, West Virginia University), Joel Hebert (Federal Historian, Department of the Navy), and Elise Lipkowitz (Science Policy Analyst, National Science Foundation) will discuss their career trajectories and provide advice for graduate students and early career scholars interested in exploring jobs outside the professoriate. Register for the Zoom link here.

 

Please email [email protected] with any questions or concerns. We hope to see you at this semester’s events!

0 Comments Read full post »