Skip to content

jbscover.gif

The official publication of the North American Conference on British Studies (NACBS), the Journal of British Studies, has positioned itself as the critical resource for scholars of British culture from the Middle Ages through the present. Drawing on both established and emerging approaches, JBS presents scholarly articles and books reviews from renowned international authors who share their ideas on British society, politics, law, economics, and the arts. In 2005 (Vol. 44), the journal merged with the NACBS publication Albion, creating one journal for NACBS membership.

Officers of the NACBS Council

I. Executive Committee (voting members of the NACBS Council)

President
Susan Pennybacker
Department of History
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hamilton Hall
CB# 3195
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3195  USA
Tel: (919) 962-2115
e-mail: pennybac@email.unc.edu
 
Vice President
Anna Clark
Department of History
University of Minnesota
1051 Heller Hall
271 19th Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455  USA
Tel: (612) 624-8015
e-mail: clark106@umn.edu
 
Executive Secretary
Paul Deslandes
Department of History
University of Vermont
Wheeler House
133 South Prospect St.
Burlington, VT 05405  USA
Tel: (802) 656-3535
e-mail: paul.deslandes@uvm.edu
 
Associate Executive Secretary
Elizabeth Prevost
Department of History
Grinnell College
1115 Eighth Ave.
Grinnell, IA 50112  USA
Tel: (641) 269-4958
e-mail: prevoste@grinnell.edu
 
Treasurer
Andrew Muldoon
Department of History
Metropolitan State University of Denver
P.O. Box 173362
Campus Box 27
Denver, CO 80217-3362  USA
Tel: (303) 556-3113
e-mail: amuldoo1@msudenver.edu
 
Immediate Past President
Keith Wrightson
Department of History
Yale University
P.O. Box 208324
New Haven, CT 06520-8324  USA
Tel: (203) 432-7248
e-mail: keith.wrightson@yale.edu

back to top

II. Elected Members of the Council (voting members)

Sandra den Otter (elected Fall 2016)
Department of History
49 Bader Lane
Watson Hall, Room 212
Queen's University
Kingston, Ontario K7L 3N6  CANADA
Tel: Tel: (613) 533-2000 x 74369
e-mail: denotter@queensu.ca
 
Deborah Valenze (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
Barnard College
Columbia University
415 Lehman Hall
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10027  USA
Tel: (617) 319-4318
e-mail: dvalenze@barnard.edu
 
James Vernon (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
University of California-Berkeley
2214 Dwinelle Hall
Berkeley, CA 94720-2550  USA
Tel: (510) 642-2362
e-mail: jvernon@berkeley.edu
 
Janet Watson (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
University of Connecticut
241 Glenbrook Rd.
Wood Hall, Room 201
Storrs, CT 06269  USA
Tel: (860) 486-2360
e-mail: janet.watson@uconn.edu
 
Rachel Weil (elected Fall 2013)
Department of History
450 McGraw Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853-4601  USA
Tel: (607) 255-8897
e-mail: rjw5@cornell.edu
 
back to top

 

III. Regional Conference Presidents (voting members of the Council)

Mid-Atlantic Conference
Andy August
History and American Studies Program
Penn State Abington
1600 Woodland Rd.
Abington, PA 19001  USA
Tel: (215) 881-7584
e-mail: axa24@psu.edu

Midwest Conference
Eric G. Tenbus
Department of History and Anthropology
136C Wood Hall
University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093  USA
Tel: (660) 543-4525
e-mail: tenbus@ucmo.edu
 
Northeast Conference
Paul Deslandes
Department of History
University of Vermont
Wheeler House
133 South Prospect St.
Burlington, VT 05405  USA
Tel: (802) 656-3535
e-mail: paul.deslandes@uvm.edu
 
Pacific Coast Conference
Simon Devereaux
Department of History
University of Victoria
P.O. Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria, BC V8W 2Y2  CANADA
Tel: (250) 721-7390
e-mail: devereau@uvic.ca
 
Southern Conference
Karl Gunther
Department of History
University of Miami
Ashe Building 611
1252 Memorial Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146  USA
Tel: (305) 284-4151
e-mail: k.gunther@miami.edu
 
Western Conference
Andrew Muldoon
Department of History
Metropolitan State University of Denver
P.O. Box 173362
Campus Box 27
Denver, CO 80217-3362  USA
Tel: (303) 556-3113
e-mail: amuldoo1@msudenver.edu

back to top

IV. Non-Voting Members of the Council

Holger Hoock, Editor, Journal of British Studies
Department of History
University of Pittsburgh
3907 Posvar Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260  USA
Tel: (412) 648-7468
e-mail: hoock@pitt.edu
 
Amy Harris, Book Review Editor, Journal of British Studies
Department of History
Brigham Young University
2150 Joseph F. Smith Building
Provo, UT 84602  USA
Tel: (801) 422-6408
e-mail: amy.harris@byu.edu
 
Paul Westover, Book Review Editor, Journal of British Studies
Department of English
Brigham Young University
4149 Joseph F. Smith Building
Provo, UT 84602  USA
Tel: (801) 422-3048
e-mail: paw@byu.edu
 
Krista Kesselring, Chair, Program Committee
Department of History
Dalhousie University
Room 1171, Marion McCain Building
6135 University Ave
PO Box 15000
Halifax, NS B3H 4R2  CANADA
Tel: (902) 494-1254
e-mail: krista.kesselring@dal.ca
 
Stephen Jackson, Social Media Relations Director
Department of History
University of Sioux Falls
1101 West 22nd St.
Sioux Falls, SD 57105  USA
Tel: (605) 331-6717
e-mail: Stephen.Jackson@usiouxfalls.edu
 
Steve Hindle, Director of Research
The Huntington Library
1151 Oxford Road
San Marino, CA 91108  USA
Tel: (626) 405-3411
e-mail: shindle@huntington.org
 
Lawrence Goldman, Director
Institute of Historical Research
School of Advanced Study, University of London
Senate House, Malet Street
London WC1E 7HU  UK
Tel : +44 020 7862 8756
e-mail: ihrdir@sas.ac.uk or Lawrence.Goldman@sas.ac.uk
 
J. Sears McGee, President, American Friends of the IHR
Department of History
HSSB 4255
University of California at Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9410  USA
Tel: (805) 969-4472
e-mail: jsmcgee@history.ucsb.edu
 
Douglas Peers, Organizer, Canadian Friends of the IHR
Faculty of Arts
PAS Building, Room 2401
Dean of Arts Office
University of Waterloo
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1  CANADA
Tel: (519) 888-4567 ext. 32217          
e-mail: dpeers@uwaterloo.ca
 
back to top
 

V. Nominating Committeee (non-voting members)

Christopher Brown (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
Columbia University
422 Fayerweather Hall
MC 2527
1180 Amsterdam Ave.
New York, New York 10027  USA
Tel: (212) 854-4591
e-mail: clb2140@columbia.edu
 
Arianne Chernock (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
Boston University
226 Bay State Road
Boston, MA 02215  USA
Tel: (617) 353-8315
e-mail: chernock@bu.edu
 
Matt Houlbrook (elected Fall 2015)
Department of History
University of Birmingham
Edgbaston
Birmingham B15 2TT  UK
Tel: +44 (0)121 41 46174
e-mail: m.houlbrook@bham.ac.uk
 
Radhika Natarajan (elected Fall 2016)
Department of History
Reed College
3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard
Portland, Oregon 97202-8199  USA
Tel: (503) 777-7771
e-mail: natarara@reed.edu
 
Lindsay O’Neill (elected Fall 2016)
Department of History
University of Southern California
3502 Trousdale Parkway
Social Sciences Building (SOS) 153
Los Angeles, CA  90089-0034  USA
Tel: (213) 740-8999
e-mail: ljoneill@usc.edu
 

back to top